The Well-Understood Fretboard, Vol. 1

How to visualize all the major scale fingerings, arpeggios, triads and inversions in any key.

No matter what genre of music you play or what kind of guitar you like to use, I’m sure you know that mastering this instrument requires a deep knowledge of the fretboard. All the players we love have acquired the ability to know instantly where the things they want to play exist on the guitar — the same way you don’t think of all the letters you’re saying while you talk.

Learning tunes, licks and transcriptions are great ways to gain vocabulary and technical facilities, but they’re even more valuable if you’re able to understand what you play. This ability lets you use and expand upon licks, lines and chords — to really make them your own. The guitar is a very “visual” instrument but, unlike the piano, understanding how the fretboard works can be a little tricky.

This course will give you the tools to understand and visualize instantly all the basic elements that exist within any major scale or major key: the scale fingerings, the triads and their inversions, the seventh chords and their inversions, as well as their corresponding arpeggios.

I’ve designed this course so that you don’t need theoretical musical knowledge — don’t panic! Any elements of basic theory will be instantly illustrated on the guitar. To embrace this material, you’ll be visualizing melodic and harmonic material at the same time. Eventually, you’ll be able to juggle all those elements as easily as possible.



New here? Read our FAQ to learn how it works and why it’s the best.

Total time: 82 minutes across 18 parts

· Introduction Free preview
· Major Scale DNA
· Visual Reference Points
· Fingerings of the Major Scale
· What is a Triad?
· Triad Inversions
· Inversions and Basic Chord Shapes
· Connecting the Dots 1
· Triad Arpeggios
· Arpeggios Within Each Position
· Wide Arpeggio Fingerings
· Major Scale 7th Chords
· What is a Drop 2 chord?
· Drop 2's and their Inversions
· Chords Along and Across the Fretboard
· Connecting the Dots 2
· 7th Chord Arpeggios
· Connecting the Dots 3

About Michael Valeanu

Guitarist Michael Valeanu has an extensive musical background, including studies at the Nadia and Lili Boulanger Conservatory in Paris and the New School for Jazz and Contemporary Music in New York City. He has performed at many of the top New York City jazz clubs, along with festivals all over the United States, Europe and Japan.

Michael tours internationally with vocalist Cyrille Aimee, and he co-produced/co-arranged her two albums “Let’s Get Lost” and “It’s A Good Day.”

Michael released his debut album “Tea Time” in 2012. In 2015, he released his second album, “Hard to Cook,” and was a finalist in the Wes Montgomery International Jazz Guitar Competition. He was born in Paris and lives in New York. Find more at

More from this artist

About Soundslice

Soundslice is the ultimate learning and practice environment for music.

Our site gives you sheet music (and tablature) that’s synced with real audio/video recordings. That means you’ll be listening to real performances as you work through material — giving you insight into the human elements of music that couldn’t possibly be notated.

Use our simple-yet-powerful tools to explore music deeply. Slow down audio/video without changing pitch; loop sections simply by dragging across notation. It’s seamless and beautiful.

When you buy, you get instant access. Everything works in your web browser, with nothing to download or install. Works on tablets and smartphones, too.

Best of all, a majority of the proceeds goes directly to the instructor, not to a faceless corporation. Thanks for supporting musicians!