Mark Lettieri: Spark and Echo guided tour

Five transcriptions and conceptual breakdowns from Mark’s album.

Spark and Echo, the newest release from Grammy-award-winning guitarist Mark Lettieri, smoothly blends the worlds of Jeff Beck, Prince, Joe Satriani and Killswitch Engage. This exclusive Soundslice lesson package is the musician’s companion to the album.

First, we’ve painstakingly transcribed five tunes off the record. Each transcription has tablature and standard notation and is synced with the original studio recording, so you can hear exactly how it sounds. Don’t miss our fantastic slowdown and looping features — it’s the ultimate practice environment.

Second, the last half of this package consists of “breakdown” videos — a separate instructional video for each of the five tunes, in which Mark discusses his compositional tactics and improvisational approaches where appropriate.

The transcriptions have been note-for-note approved by Mark and make it much easier for you to get these songs together with your friends.

Plug in, play along, and learn a thing or two.



New here? Read our FAQ to learn how it works and why it’s the best.

Total time: 52 minutes across 11 parts

· Introduction Free preview
· Goonsquad
· Montreal
· Little Minx
· Summer Salt
· Spark and Echo
· Goonsquad breakdown
· Montreal breakdown
· Little Minx breakdown
· Summer Salt breakdown
· Spark and Echo breakdown

About Mark Lettieri

Mark Lettieri is a composer and session guitarist based in Fort Worth, Texas. A longtime member of the two-time Grammy Award-winning jazz/funk/world band Snarky Puppy, Lettieri has performed on every continent except Antarctica. He’s released three albums of original guitar-based instrumentals and has either performed on stage or recorded in a studio with artists of virtually every genre, including David Crosby, Erykah Badu, Kirk Franklin, 50 Cent, Eminem, Snoop Dogg, Lalah Hathaway, Phillip Phillips and even Pat Boone.

More from this artist

About Soundslice

Soundslice is the ultimate learning and practice environment for music.

Our site gives you sheet music (and tablature) that’s synced with real audio/video recordings. That means you’ll be listening to real performances as you work through material — giving you insight into the human elements of music that couldn’t possibly be notated.

Use our simple-yet-powerful tools to explore music deeply. Slow down audio/video without changing pitch; loop sections simply by dragging across notation. It’s seamless and beautiful.

When you buy, you get instant access. Everything works in your web browser, with nothing to download or install. Works on tablets and smartphones, too.

Best of all, a majority of the proceeds goes directly to the instructor, not to a faceless corporation. Thanks for supporting musicians!