Please correct the errors below.

Managing tracks

Each slice’s notation is made of one or more tracks. You might also call these “instruments” or “parts.” Here’s how to manage tracks when editing a slice.

Adding a track

To add a track, click the “Tracks” button toward the top right of the page:

Screenshot

If your slice already has at least one track, you’ll see a list of tracks with an “Add a track” button at the bottom; click that. If your slice is empty, you’ll go directly to the “Add track” screen:

Screenshot

This shows you various presets for tracks. Choose the type of instrument you’d like to add. Don’t see your instrument? Generally “Generic treble clef” is the way to go (you can change the clef later).

Once you’ve chosen a preset, you’ll get a more detailed interface for customizing the track:

Screenshot

The options are:

  • Name
  • Clef — the default clef
  • Synthetic sound — which instrument sound to use during synthetic playback
  • Written C sounds as — specifies transposition, for transposing instruments
  • Tab? — whether the track uses tablature

Don’t worry, you can always change this information later (with the exception of the “Tab?” option).

If you activate the Tab checkbox, you’ll get extra options:

  • Tuning — the number of strings and their associated tuning
  • Capo — which fret to put the capo on

Changing a track

To change a track’s name, synthetic sound or other details, click the “Tracks” button toward the top right of the page:

Screenshot

Then click the track’s name. You’ll be able to edit various track details.

Duplicating a track

To duplicate a track, click the “Tracks” button toward the top right of the page, then click the track’s name. Click “Duplicate track” at the bottom right.

This will create a new track with the same settings as the track you duplicated. This does not copy notation within the track.

Deleting a track

To delete a track, click the “Tracks” button toward the top right of the page. You’ll see the list of tracks:

Screenshot

Click the trash can icon to the right of the track you want to delete.

If you delete a track by mistake, you can hit Control+Z to undo.

Reordering tracks

To reorder tracks, click the “Tracks” button toward the top right of the page. You’ll see the list of tracks. Click and drag the left-most icon up/down to reorder:

Screenshot