Please correct the errors below.

What should I do if the YouTube video in my slice has been deleted?

Here’s what you can do if your slice has a YouTube recording and that YouTube video has since been removed.

(Don’t worry, your notation/tab data will remain untouched as you take any of the following steps.)

If you’ve found another YouTube video with the same music

Add another recording, copy the original recording’s syncpoints, adjust the syncpoints if necessary, then delete the original recording.

Here are the steps in detail:

  1. Edit your slice and open its Recordings list.
  2. Add another recording to your slice, using the new YouTube video.
  3. When editing the new recording’s syncpoints, copy the syncpoints from the old video. This way you don’t have to re-enter them.
  4. It’s possible that the music starts a bit later or earlier in the new video. If so, use the syncpoint editor’s “Drag all” feature to move all syncpoints left or right.
  5. Once your syncpoints are good, delete the original recording (the one with the deleted YouTube video).

If you have the same music, but as an MP3

Add another recording, copy the original recording’s syncpoints, adjust the syncpoints if necessary, then delete the original recording.

Here are the steps in detail:

  1. Edit your slice and open its Recordings list.
  2. Add another recording to your slice, uploading your MP3.
  3. When editing the new recording’s syncpoints, copy the syncpoints from the old video. This way you don’t have to re-enter them.
  4. It’s possible that the music starts a bit later or earlier in your MP3. If so, use the syncpoint editor’s “Drag all” feature to move all syncpoints left or right.
  5. Once your syncpoints are good, delete the original recording (the one with the deleted YouTube video).

If you don’t have any way of finding that audio anymore

In this situation, unfortunately your slice won’t be able to have a real audio recording anymore. However, you’ll at least still be able to hear the music with our synthetic playback.

To clean things up and prevent confusion for anybody viewing your slice, we recommend editing the slice and deleting its recording.