Please correct the errors below.

Sharing slices with individual students

It’s fast and easy to share a slice privately with one of your students. This is a lighter-weight alternative to creating a private course.

How to share a slice with a student

Open your slice in edit mode, then open the privacy dropdown menu in the upper right and choose “Share privately…” (Note: Only users in the Teacher plan, or higher, will see this.)

Screenshot

The subsequent screen will look like this:

Screenshot

Click “Share with more people or courses…” and we’ll give you a way to select from your courses and students:

Screenshot

You can use the search box to quickly filter your students. (The students are taken from your student-management page.) Click a student to add them to the selection. You can select multiple students if you’d like.

When you’ve made your selections, click “Continue,” and you’ll see a screen like this:

Screenshot

Here, you can select performance settings for this slice with the selected student(s). Make your selections, then click “Save,” and you’re done.

Unsharing a slice

Open your slice in edit mode, then open the privacy dropdown menu in the upper right and choose “Share privately…” (Note: Only users in the Teacher plan, or higher, will see this.)

Screenshot

You’ll see a list of all the students this slice has been privately shared with (along with any private courses the slice is in). Find the student with whom you want to unshare this slice, then click “Edit settings” next to it:

Screenshot

You’ll see the slice’s options with respect to this course. In the lower right, click “Stop sharing.”

The student experience

When you’ve shared at least one slice privately with a student, the student will see a “Lessons from your teacher” link in their Soundslice account, with your name and avatar image:

Screenshot

This will appear on their Overview page (i.e., the first page they get after logging in) and on their Lessons page (accessible by clicking “Lessons” in the left sidebar of most pages on our site).

When the student clicks that link, they’ll get to a page listing all slices you’ve privately shared with them.